Love, Marie

I think it’s safe for me to say that I’m pretty ambitious for taking up vlogging and starting up a WordPress, all while on my year on exchange. But I thought I’d take this opportunity to write, since I have been mostly at home over the past few days due to all the crazy strikes and protests going around near my neighbourhood, and because I’ve been having on and off migraines as a result of my body still adjusting to a new time zone and my sleeping patterns have been all over the place (but it’s getting better, praise God!). For those who still aren’t updated with my life, I’m currently living in Argentina as part of my international degree at university, so I thought this would be the perfect time to start blogging.

Anyway, I reckon it would make sense for my first post to be about why I chose Love, Marie as my domain name and tag line for my blogs (for those who still don’t know, the ‘eiramarie’ in my URL is Marie backwards and frontwards lol). To provide some context, my full name is Lourdes Marie and all my life, I’ve had struggles with people trying to pronounce my name. Being a Filipino and having a name that is of Spanish origin, my preferred ways of pronouncing my name are Loor-des or Lor-des (I’m sorry to all my high school mates reading this). But being the socially awkward person that I am, a lot of the time I would get tired of having to correct people whenever my name is mispronounced. Just to provide an example, on my first day of high school, all the teachers and students would call me by the French pronunciation, Loo-eds, and because I was too shy to speak up and correct everyone each time, I went through my whole high school life being called that. And to this day, some of my high school mates still call me that, and I let it happen because I realised that people call me by various nicknames and I’d like to think that this is theirs, haha.

So back to Marie, I would also use my middle name as my alias, or fake name, whenever I wasn’t bothered to spell or re-pronounce my name whenever I would order takeaway food/drinks. Even here in Argentina, I had to use Marie when I ordered a takeaway hotdog because apparently Lourdes isn’t as common of a Spanish name here (even after I poorly rolled my ‘R’ when saying my name haha). This isn’t to say that I prefer Marie over Lourdes, nor that I hate or want to change my name, because Lourdes is such a beautiful and unique name, and it’s what makes me me. But when I think of Lourdes, I think of the side of me that is awkward, silly and clumsy, and when I think of Marie, I think of the more articulate and mature side. Does that make sense? I mean, I’m not trying to sound like I have multiple personalities (none of that Split business – for those who’ve seen the film haha), I’ve just always wanted to have an alias. Is that lame? And to be honest, Love, Marie has such a nice ring, in comparison to Love, Lourdes (lol – and I actually really wanted to have ‘lourdesmarie’ as my URL but that was taken). I hope that all made sense, and if not, I hope you learned something new about me.

And that’s what I want people to gain from my blogs; I want to let people in to what goes on in my head, especially because I love to go on tangents and writing them down is the best way to recall everything. I’m also the type of person who is a lot more articulate in writing than in speaking. I’m that person who prefers text messages over phone calls, and handwritten letters over spoken words of affirmation (mainly because I never know how to react or what to say afterwards haha). I’ve always been the type to love journalling, even if my vocabulary is limited, but I’ve always been too hesitant to start a WordPress. But I thought, with all the changes this year, I thought I would use this platform to write down my experiences and reflections this year and hopefully even afterwards, in the hope that someone may be inspired in one way or another, or that my thoughts can relate with others going through similar things as I am that they aren’t able to express.

If you’ve made it this far, kudos to you! My mind tends to ramble on whenever I write, so I appreciate the fact that you’ve taken the time to read all this. If there’s one thing you can gain from this post, it is to not be afraid to start something new. Even if it is already 3 months into 2017. By starting this blog, I hope that I can improve on my writing skills, and have something to reflect and look back on at the end of this year, with all the adventures and experiences I’ve yet to have. Because there’s nothing more satisfying than going through a self-discovery or self-growth. And I’d like you to join me on this journey, too. Not gonna lie, it’ll be tough, and I’m gonna need all the prayers I can get. But my mantra/conviction statement this year is “I don’t know where You are taking me Lord, but I will go and follow You”.

Hasta luego, ¡besos y abrazos! (“Until next time, hugs and kisses!” en español)

Love, Marie ♡

The original blog post I wanted to put up somehow got deleted when I went to publish it in the first place, so I tried to recall and recover everything that I wrote the first time, but I couldn’t and my brain doesn’t have the best memory 😦 but I did the best I could *

One thought on “Love, Marie

Add yours

  1. It’s so awesome that you’re doing this! I feel exactly the same about writing, and starting is always the hardest part. I hope you get everything you want from this and more xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

