My First Week in Argentina

(Above photo: San Telmo, Buenos Aires)

By now, it has been a bit over a week since I left Australia and, to be honest, some days have been better than others, in terms of transitioning to a new environment and dealing with inevitable culture shock and homesickness. But for the most part, Buenos Aires has been beautiful so far and I’ve been enjoying the sightseeing and the awesome food! And after a few observations made, here are a few things I have learned, being here in Argentina:

  • There are no buttons at pedestrian crossings (apparently quite common in other parts of the world)
  • The commute and road safety is quite similar to the Philippines (but not as bad), in the sense that there aren’t any driving lanes and, even though pedestrians are signalled to cross, a car will cut you off mid-crossing
  • Your car will get hit by another in order to fit into a parallel parking spot (there were instances where I saw someone love-tap the car behind/in front of them just so they could squeeze onto the kerb)
  • Milk is sold in large packets (similar to chip packets)
  • Piropos is very common here aka the culture of catcalling – men don’t know what subtle means when it comes to staring you down the streets no matter what time of day (it happened more so to my friend, than myself, which I’m kind of glad because at least I know I’m not their type lol)
  • Argentinians say chau (pronounced he same was as ciao) more than adiós (from what I’ve observed anyway)
  • During Carnaval (one of South America’s national holidays) it is normal to be sprayed top to bottom with foam sprayers that smell and feel like soap
  • No matter where you are in the world, you will always feel at home when you step into a Church and hear Mass, even if it isn’t said in your native tongue (but I do hope to be able to understand and respond fluently by the end of this year)

Hasta luego, ¡besos y abrazos!

Love, Marie ♡

One thought on “My First Week in Argentina

Add yours

Leave a Reply

